Chicago Restaurant Week 2010 ended yesterday. For 10 days over 170 restaurants in the Chicagoland area had prix fixe lunches for $22 and dinners for only $33! So of course my friends and I had to try a few.

Two weekends ago we had lunch at The Melting Pot (real original I know, but Kim and I had never been!), which was good but not post worthy. This weekend we had lunch at the River North location of Rockit Bar & Grill, which was, to say the least, amazing.

French Onion Soup from Rockit


First, I should warn you that if you try to go there for lunch on a weekend, they have a limited brunch menu which only includes some of the regular stuff. We did not know that going in, otherwise we would have gone at a different time.

Also we went at about 2:00 pm, which is apparently the peak brunch time, and without a reservation. So we had to wait about 20 minutes for a table.

It was worth it.

“Hip” and Interesting Atmosphere

It’s sad to say but we felt pretty hip going there. It seems like the place to be for brunch, it was packed with 20somethings eating late after staying out late at the bar. The decor is actually really interesting, there are different sizes and styles of mirrors hanging on the walls. It feels very modern and sleek yet not boring.

Slow Service

Maybe it was just because we came at the end of a rush, but our server was pretty slow. I’m really not one to get upset over poor service after working in a restaurant for almost five years, I understand that things happen. However, this was just painful.

It took her over 10 minutes to come take our drink order, then just as long to bring them to us. She just left after giving us our drinks instead of taking our food order. Then she kept walking by us and going to other tables and talking to people. The same thing happened when we were done and wanted our check.

When we finally did order it took the usual amount of time for our food to cook, about 15 to 20 minutes.

Delicious Food

I of course had to check out the menu before we arrived, so I pretty much knew what I wanted: a bowl of French Onion Soup and their BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich or the Soft Shell Crab Po’Boy. I’m a sucker for soft shell crab.

Then we found out that for the weekend brunch it is only the brunch menu plus a few of the regular lunch items. I had to change my plan because neither of those sandwiches were available. Kim also had her heart set on the pulled pork so we had to spend some time thinking.

Dani already knew exactly what she wanted: The Kobe and Foie Gras Burger. It looked like $19 of amazingness:

  • Kobe Beef
  • Seared Foie Gras
  • Balsamic Onions
  • Red Onion Brioche Bun
  • Truffle Fries

Dani couldn’t even form words, it was that good. I had a piece of her foie gras and it was amazing, thank god they repealed the ban.

Kobe & Foie Gras Burger from Rockit

Dani also had a $5 Effen Bloody Mary, which included a “gourmet bloody mary bar.” It actually had a lot of crazy options like whole pickles and meat and cheese rolls and Dani’s favorite, olives. I had a $5 Mimosa which was delicious, definitely not cheap champagne.

Kim finally decided on the Grilled Turkey Burger ($11), which had sliced avocado, chipotle mayonnaise and a pretzel bun. Kim has a slight obsession with sweet potato fries, so she got those instead of regular fries. The burger must have been good because Kim ate it so fast! She loved the fries and she thought the avocado and pretzel bun was a nice twist on a turkey burger.

My choice was a little bit more difficult. I still got the French Onion Soup ($6), which really hit the spot. The gruyere cheese was thick and bubbly on top of the bread and underneath it was the delicious soup. I pretty much filled up on that.

Look at all the cheesy brothy goodness!

I ended up getting the Black Angus Burger with Cheddar Cheese ($12), which was cooked perfectly at my requested medium rare. It came on top of a pretzel bun with lettuce, tomato, onions and pickles. It was delicious, but the real star of the show was the truffle fries.

I had to pay an extra $2 for the truffle fries but they were worth it. Truffle oil (and truffle butter) are two of my favorite things, and these fries did not disappoint. They were soft yet crispy, and full of truffle oil and parsley. I could have just ate the soup and the fries and I would be happy.

Black Angus Burger with Truffle Fries from Rockit

Overall we had a good time and a delicious lunch. Next time we’ll probably go for lunch on a week day so we can have the pulled pork sandwich!

